Nonprofit screen
Screen a listThe Legacy Senior Communities Inc
Can you give?
Listed with the IRS. Every screen came back clear.
A 501(c)(3) on Publication 78 and the IRS master file.
- IRS nonprofit listing
- No issue
- Revocation
- None
- IRS files
- Agree
- Sanctions
- No match
- IRS bulletin
- No notice
- California
- No record
- Charity type
- Supporting organization, type not stated
$3.6Mrevenue
FY2025 · +56% in 3 yrs51staff
8 of 8years filed
’18’19’20’21’22’23’24’25
Revenue and spendingRevenueSpendingDeficit
Against similar nonprofits FY2025
Operating margin−1.0%
Months of reserve1.4mo
Revenue growth (annualized)+14.5%
Middle half of peersMedianLegacy Senior Communities
Where the money goes FY2025 · $3.7M spent
Programs$3.3M91%Management and general$343k9%990 FY2025 · Part IX line 25
Worth checking3
Its largest funder stopped after FY2021
William and Sylvia Zale Foundation gave about $250k a year for two years, 13% of revenue in FY2021.
Funders’ 990-PF grant listsGovernment grants fell 90% in FY2025
$586k in FY2023, $58k in FY2025.
990 Part VIIIDeficits in 2 of the last 3 years
−$158k in FY2024 and −$35k in FY2025. Cash covers 1.4 months, under the peer median of 3.8.
990 Part I and balance sheetIn its favor2
Strong governance
28 of 29 board members independent. Conflict-of-interest and whistleblower policies, audited financial statements, board reviews the 990.
990 Part VIGrowing faster than peers
Revenue up 14% a year since FY2017, faster than half of similar nonprofits.
990 Part I · peer cohort23funders
$292ka year, last 3 years
29%from its largest funder
Funder’17’18’19’20’21’22’23William and Sylvia Zale FoundationStopped after FY2021$250k$250k–Mb and Edna Zale FoundationEvery year since FY2017$16k$85k$60k$20k$100k$20k$3kHarlan & Amy Korenvaes Family FoundationSince FY2018$100k$60k$50k$56k$12k$6kKalman & Ida Wolens Foundation Co Joe MilkesStopped after FY2021$15k$50k$50k$10k–Hillcrest FoundationOn and off$100kTrevor and Elaine Pearlman Family FoundationOn and off$25k$25k$25kDonor-advised giftsDonors not disclosed$58k$116k$121k$90k11 other fundersUp to $16k a year each$16k$5k$6k$19k$28k$25k$17k
FundedThrough a donor-advised fundStopped