Nonprofit screen
Screen a listThe Center for Arts Education Inc
Can you give?
One screen flags this organization.
A flag is not a determination. Check the screen marked below before you grant.
- IRS nonprofit listing
- Flagged
- Revocation
- None
- IRS files
- Agree
- Sanctions
- No match
- IRS bulletin
- No notice
- California
- No record
- Charity type
- Not stated
$315krevenue
FY2021 · −82% in 3 yrs40staff
5 of 5years filed
’17’18’19’20’21
Revenue and spendingRevenueSpendingDeficit
Where the money goes FY2021 · $180k spent
Programs$151k84%Management and general$25k14%Fundraising$4k2%990 FY2021 · Part IX line 25
Worth checking2
Its largest funder stopped after FY2020
Daniel L Nir & Jill E Braufman Family Foundation Inc gave about $164k a year for four years, 14% of revenue in FY2020.
Funders’ 990-PF grant listsDeficits in 2 of the last 3 years
−$459k in FY2019 and −$263k in FY2020. Cash covers 2.9 months.
990 Part I and balance sheetIn its favor2
Strong governance
14 of 14 board members independent. Conflict-of-interest and whistleblower policies, audited financial statements, board reviews the 990.
990 Part VIA history of government grants
Government grants on 5 of its 5 returns, 67% of revenue in FY2021.
990 Part VIII43funders
$174ka year, last 3 years
29%from its largest funder
Funder’17’18’19’20’21’22Daniel L Nir & Jill E Braufman Family Foundation IncStopped after FY2020$72k$276k$157k$150k–Gertrude and Edward Wiener Charitable Foundation IncStopped after FY2021$33k$38k$34k$40k$40k–Anna-Maria and Stephen Kellen Foundation Inc C/O Joel E Sammet & Co LLPEvery year since FY2017$10k$15k$15k$15k$15k$15kArison Arts FoundationStopped after FY2021$25k$25k$25k–Sjs Charitable TrustStopped after FY2019$20k$20k$25k–Blanche T Enders Charitble Tr Xxxxx5000Stopped after FY2021$25k$25k–Donor-advised giftsDonors not disclosed$69k$110k$10k$10k$33k$3330 other fundersUp to $35k a year each$65k$41k$72k$80k$26k
FundedThrough a donor-advised fundStopped