Nonprofit screen
Screen a listSterling and Francine Clark Art Institute
Can you give?
Listed with the IRS. Every screen came back clear.
A 501(c)(3) on Publication 78 and the IRS master file.
- IRS nonprofit listing
- No issue
- Revocation
- None
- IRS files
- Agree
- Sanctions
- No match
- IRS bulletin
- No notice
- California
- No record
- Charity type
- Supporting organization, type not stated
$59Mrevenue
FY2025 · +615% in 3 yrs185staff
7 of 8years filed
’18’19’20’21’22’23’24’25
Revenue and spendingRevenueSpendingDeficit
Against similar nonprofits FY2025
Operating margin37.8%
Months of reserve0.8mo
Revenue growth (annualized)+7.9%
Middle half of peersMedianSterling and Francine Clark Art Institute
Where the money goes FY2025 · $37M spent
Programs$28M76%Management and general$6.8M18%Fundraising$2.2M6%990 FY2025 · Part IX line 25
Worth checking2
A major funder stopped after FY2021
Manton Foundation gave about $5.0M a year for two years.
Funders’ 990-PF grant listsDeficits in 2 of the last 3 years
−$21M in FY2023 and −$7.1M in FY2024. Cash covers 0.8 months, under the peer median of 3.3.
990 Part I and balance sheetIn its favor3
Strong governance
18 of 19 board members independent. Conflict-of-interest and whistleblower policies, audited financial statements.
990 Part VIGrowing faster than peers
Revenue up 8% a year since FY2017, faster than half of similar nonprofits.
990 Part I · peer cohortA history of government grants
Government grants on 8 of its 8 returns, 0% of revenue in FY2025. $797k is traced federal awards from National Endowment for the Humanities.
990 Part VIII · USAspending99funders
$6.7Ma year, last 3 years
44%from its largest funder
Funder’17’18’19’20’21’22’23Manton FoundationStopped after FY2021$1.3M$8.8M–Halvorsen Family FoundationSince FY2020$2.1M$100k$479k$5.5MLunder FoundationOn and off$641k$645k$403k$376kEugene V and Clare E Thaw Charitable TrustOn and off$1.2MSue & Edgar Wachenheim FoundationStopped after FY2022$300k$750k–The Asbjorn Lunde Foundation IncOn and off$5k$97k$475kDonor-advised giftsDonors not disclosed$63k$151k$100k$130k$370k$661k$341k66 other fundersUp to $500k a year each$234k$79k$242k$620k$246k$437k$1.2M
FundedThrough a donor-advised fundStopped