Nonprofit screen
Screen a listSalus University
Can you give?
One screen flags this organization.
A flag is not a determination. Check the screen marked below before you grant.
- IRS nonprofit listing
- Flagged
- Revocation
- None
- IRS files
- Agree
- Sanctions
- No match
- IRS bulletin
- No notice
- California
- No record
- Charity type
- Not stated
$60Mrevenue
FY2024 · +11% in 3 yrs920staff
8 of 8years filed
’17’18’19’20’21’22’23’24
Revenue and spendingRevenueSpendingDeficit
Where the money goes FY2024 · $60M spent
Programs$48M79%Management and general$12M20%Fundraising$723k1%990 FY2024 · Part IX line 25
Worth checking1
Deficits in 3 of the last 3 years
−$776k in FY2022, −$2.0M in FY2023 and −$244k in FY2024. Cash covers 2.8 months.
990 Part I and balance sheetIn its favor2
Strong governance
18 of 20 board members independent. Conflict-of-interest and whistleblower policies, audited financial statements, board reviews the 990.
990 Part VIA history of government grants
Government grants on 7 of its 7 returns, 5% of revenue in FY2024. $12M is traced federal awards from Department of Education.
990 Part VIII · USAspending46funders
$475ka year, last 3 years
29%from its largest funder
Funder’17’18’19’20’21’22’23Dr Robert Henry Scholarship FundStopped after FY2021$18k$18k$19k$418k–Trustees of Boston UniversityStopped after FY2019$125k$210k$92k–Northeast Pennsylvania Lions Service FoundationSince FY2018$25k$25k$25k$30k$45k$35kAssociation of Schools and Colleges of OptometryOn and off$51k$28k$35k$32kIndependence Blue Cross FoundationSince FY2021$25k$25k$50kLavelle Fund for the Blind IncNew in FY2023$97kDonor-advised giftsDonors not disclosed$11k$22k$23k$16k$36k$15k$53k29 other fundersUp to $85k a year each$32k$50k$61k$198k$157k$203k$168k
FundedThrough a donor-advised fundStopped