Nonprofit screen
Screen a listInterise Inc
Can you give?
One screen flags this organization.
A flag is not a determination. Check the screen marked below before you grant.
- IRS nonprofit listing
- Flagged
- Revocation
- None
- IRS files
- Agree
- Sanctions
- No match
- IRS bulletin
- No notice
- California
- No record
- Charity type
- Not stated
$2.6Mrevenue
FY2023 · −16% in 3 yrs22staff
7 of 7years filed
’17’18’19’20’21’22’23
Revenue and spendingRevenueSpendingDeficit
Against similar nonprofits FY2023
Operating margin−28.1%
Months of reserve3.5mo
Revenue growth (annualized)−3.0%
Middle half of peersMedianInterise
Where the money goes FY2023 · $3.3M spent
Programs$2.1M64%Management and general$728k22%Fundraising$463k14%990 FY2023 · Part IX line 25
Worth checking4
A funder worth 20% of revenue stopped after FY2021
Gates Foundation gave $1.0M in FY2021, 20% of revenue that year.
Funders’ 990-PF grant listsGovernment grants fell 98% in FY2022
$2.9M in FY2021, $50k in FY2022.
990 Part VIIIFederal awards stopped after FY2020
$1.9M in FY2020, none traced since.
USAspendingDeficits in 2 of the last 3 years
−$738k in FY2022 and −$732k in FY2023. Cash covers 3.5 months, under the peer median of 5.8.
990 Part I and balance sheetIn its favor1
Strong governance
9 of 9 board members independent. Conflict-of-interest and whistleblower policies, audited financial statements, board reviews the 990.
990 Part VI22funders
$607ka year, last 3 years
55%from its largest funder
Funder’17’18’19’20’21’22’23Ewing Marion Kauffman FoundationStopped after FY2019$127k$433k$1.3M–Gates FoundationOn and off$1.0MSurdna Foundation IncStopped after FY2018$250k$125k–The Prudential FoundationStopped after FY2018$185k$190k–Td Charitable FoundationOn and off$120k$120k$120kFidelity FoundationOn and off$250kDonor-advised giftsDonors not disclosed$20k$10k10 other fundersUp to $150k a year each$3k$4k$16k$6k$298k$19k
FundedThrough a donor-advised fundStopped