Nonprofit screen
Screen a listIdsa Education and Research Foundation
Can you give?
Listed with the IRS. Every screen came back clear.
A 501(c)(3) on Publication 78 and the IRS master file.
- IRS nonprofit listing
- No issue
- Revocation
- None
- IRS files
- Agree
- Sanctions
- No match
- IRS bulletin
- No notice
- California
- Registered
- Charity type
- Supporting organization, type not stated
$2.0Mrevenue
FY2024 · −57% in 3 yrs8 of 8years filed
’17’18’19’20’21’22’23’24
Revenue and spendingRevenueSpendingDeficit
Against similar nonprofits FY2024
Operating margin−6.1%
Months of reserve3.7mo
Revenue growth (annualized)+2.7%
Middle half of peersMedianIdsa Education and Research
Where the money goes FY2024 · $2.1M spent
Programs$1.4M65%Management and general$552k27%Fundraising$169k8%990 FY2024 · Part IX line 25
Worth checking2
Its largest funder stopped after FY2022
The Benter Foundation gave about $1.8M a year for four years, 52% of revenue in FY2022.
Funders’ 990-PF grant listsDeficits in 2 of the last 3 years
−$2.4M in FY2023 and −$119k in FY2024. Cash covers 3.7 months, above the peer median of 3.4.
990 Part I and balance sheetIn its favor1
Strong governance
6 of 6 board members independent. Conflict-of-interest and whistleblower policies, audited financial statements, board reviews the 990.
990 Part VI9funders
$1.9Ma year, last 3 years
94%from its largest funder
Funder’17’18’19’20’21’22’23The Benter FoundationStopped after FY2022$466k$1.2M$2.2M$3.2M–Capital for Good USAOn and off$369kThe Institute for Technology in Health CareNew in FY2023$50kThe Labcorp Charitable FoundationNew in FY2023$50kThe Allstate FoundationNew in FY2023$5kDonor-advised giftsDonors not disclosed$130k$100k$100k$50k
FundedThrough a donor-advised fundStopped