Nonprofit screen
Screen a listHoosier Action Inc
Can you give?
Listed with the IRS. Every screen came back clear.
An organization on the IRS master file.
- IRS nonprofit listing
- No issue
- Revocation
- None
- IRS files
- Agree
- Sanctions
- No match
- IRS bulletin
- No notice
- California
- No record
- Charity type
- Not stated
$1.2Mrevenue
FY2025 · +10% in 3 yrs12staff
8 of 8years filed
’18’19’20’21’22’23’24’25
Revenue and spendingRevenueSpendingDeficit
Against similar nonprofits FY2025
Operating margin6.5%
Months of reserve4.5mo
Revenue growth (annualized)+35.6%
Middle half of peersMedianHoosier Action
Where the money goes FY2025 · $1.1M spent
Programs$724k66%Management and general$286k26%Fundraising$88k8%990 FY2025 · Part IX line 25
Worth checking2
Its largest funder stopped after FY2020
Center for Popular Democracy Inc gave about $62k a year for three years, 10% of revenue in FY2020.
Funders’ 990-PF grant listsDeficits in 2 of the last 3 years
−$182k in FY2023 and −$58k in FY2024. Cash covers 4.5 months, under the peer median of 5.5.
990 Part I and balance sheetIn its favor1
Growing faster than peers
Revenue up 36% a year since FY2017, in the top quarter of similar nonprofits.
990 Part I · peer cohort14funders
$63ka year, last 3 years
32%from its largest funder
Funder’17’18’19’20’21’22’23Center for Popular Democracy IncStopped after FY2020$110k$20k$55k–Center for Popular Democracy Action Fund IncStopped after FY2018$45k$25k–Indiana Democracy Collective IncNew in FY2023$60kNeedmor Co the Northern Trust CompanyOn and off$40kFaith in IndianaOn and off$40kIndiana Progressive Collaborative IncNew in FY2023$30kDonor-advised giftsDonors not disclosed$15k$75k5 other fundersUp to $15k a year each$15k$7k$10k$18k
FundedThrough a donor-advised fundStopped