Nonprofit screen
Screen a listHealthy Learners
Can you give?
Listed with the IRS. Every screen came back clear.
A 501(c)(3) on the IRS master file.
- IRS nonprofit listing
- No issue
- Revocation
- None
- IRS files
- Agree
- Sanctions
- No match
- IRS bulletin
- No notice
- California
- Registered
- Charity type
- Supporting organization, type not stated
$2.2Mrevenue
FY2024 · +42% in 3 yrs7 of 7years filed
’18’19’20’21’22’23’24
Revenue and spendingRevenueSpendingDeficit
Against similar nonprofits FY2024
Operating margin−31.3%
Months of reserve2.4mo
Revenue growth (annualized)+14.2%
Middle half of peersMedianHealthy Learners
Where the money goes FY2024 · $2.9M spent
Programs$2.4M84%Management and general$257k9%Fundraising$192k7%990 FY2024 · Part IX line 25
Worth checking1
Deficits in 3 of the last 3 years
−$649k in FY2022, −$223k in FY2023 and −$689k in FY2024. Cash covers 2.4 months, under the peer median of 3.2.
990 Part I and balance sheetIn its favor3
Strong governance
12 of 13 board members independent. Conflict-of-interest and whistleblower policies, audited financial statements, board reviews the 990.
990 Part VIGrowing faster than peers
Revenue up 14% a year since FY2018, faster than half of similar nonprofits.
990 Part I · peer cohortA history of government grants
Government grants on 4 of its 7 returns, 26% of revenue in FY2024.
990 Part VIII46funders
$1.3Ma year, last 3 years
16%from its largest funder
Funder’17’18’19’20’21’22’23BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina FoundationSince FY2020$121k$113k$242k$263kFormanek FoundationOn and off$100k$250k$250kUnited Way Association of South Carolina IncSince FY2020$15k$65k$164k$258kThe Duke EndowmentSince FY2022$250k$200kGeorgetown Memorial HospitalEvery year since FY2017$25k$20k$25k$20k$25k$25k$15kDelta Dental of MissouriSince FY2021$50k$50k$25kDonor-advised giftsDonors not disclosed$95k$52k$37k$137k$78k$92k$85k30 other fundersUp to $350k a year each$53k$115k$252k$320k$485k$237k$666k
FundedThrough a donor-advised fund