Nonprofit screen
Screen a listCouncil for Adult and Experiential Learning
Can you give?
Listed with the IRS, but California flags it.
Check its California registration before you grant.
- IRS nonprofit listing
- Flagged
- Revocation
- None
- IRS files
- Agree
- Sanctions
- No match
- IRS bulletin
- No notice
- California
- Not current
- Charity type
- Not stated
$3.9Mrevenue
FY2021 · −63% in 3 yrs38staff
5 of 5years filed
’17’18’19’20’21
Revenue and spendingRevenueSpendingDeficit
Where the money goes FY2021 · $5.5M spent
Programs$3.6M66%Management and general$1.3M25%Fundraising$524k10%990 FY2021 · Part IX line 25
Worth checking2
Its largest funder stopped after FY2020
Ascendium Education Solutions Inc gave about $430k a year for three years, 10% of revenue in FY2020.
Funders’ 990-PF grant listsDeficits in 3 of the last 3 years
−$4.7M in FY2019, −$2.8M in FY2020 and −$1.6M in FY2021. Cash covers 0.6 months.
990 Part I and balance sheetIn its favor
None found in the filings.
14funders
$572ka year, last 3 years
34%from its largest funder
Funder’17’18’19’20’21’22Ascendium Education Solutions IncStopped after FY2020$444k$403k$443k–The Kresge FoundationStopped after FY2020$65k$300k$250k$250k–Ecmc FoundationOn and off$841kGates FoundationStopped after FY2018$595k$192k–Jpmorgan Chase FoundationStopped after FY2020$380k$170k$165k$200–Charles Koch FoundationSince FY2021$175k$407kDonor-advised giftsDonors not disclosed$120k$75k$150k4 other fundersUp to $150k a year each$27k$56k$160k
FundedThrough a donor-advised fundStopped