Nonprofit screen
Screen a listCleveland Va Medical Research and Education Foundation
Can you give?
Listed with the IRS. Every screen came back clear.
A 501(c)(3) on Publication 78 and the IRS master file.
- IRS listing
- Listed
- Revocation
- None
- IRS files
- Agree
- Sanctions
- No match
- IRS bulletin
- No notice
- California
- No record
- Charity type
- Supporting organization, type not stated
$5.2Mrevenue
FY2025 · +36% in 3 yrs45staff
8 of 8years filed
’18’19’20’21’22’23’24’25
Revenue and spendingRevenueSpendingDeficit
Against similar nonprofits FY2025
Operating margin−6.7%
Months of reserve3.4mo
Revenue growth (annualized)+6.0%
Middle half of peersMedianCleveland Va Medical Research and Education
Where the money goes FY2025 · $5.6M spent
Programs$4.6M82%Management and general$975k18%990 FY2025 · Part IX line 25
Worth checking1
Deficits in 3 of the last 3 years
−$441k in FY2023, −$234k in FY2024 and −$349k in FY2025. Cash covers 3.4 months, under the peer median of 3.5.
990 Part I and balance sheetIn its favor1
A history of government grants
Government grants on 4 of its 4 returns, 30% of revenue in FY2020. $9.3M is traced federal awards from Department of Defense.
990 Part VIII · USAspending17funders
$213ka year, last 3 years
50%from its largest funder
Funder’17’18’19’20’21’22’23American Academy of Neurology InstituteOn and off$450kCareSource Ohio IncOn and off$320kNorthwestern UniversityStopped after FY2021$61k$82k$113k$28k$28k–Johns Hopkins UniversityStopped after FY2022$86k$86k$54k$17k$45k–Mayo Clinic Group ReturnSince FY2018$16k$35k$30k$40k$19k$45kDystonia Medical Research FoundationStopped after FY2019$65k$65k–Donor-advised giftsDonors not disclosed$19k$6k7 other fundersUp to $100k a year each$32k$14k$179k$25k$50k$60k$15k
FundedThrough a donor-advised fundStopped