Nonprofit screen
Screen a listChildren's Assessment Center Foundation
Can you give?
Listed with the IRS. Every screen came back clear.
A 501(c)(3) on Publication 78 and the IRS master file.
- IRS nonprofit listing
- No issue
- Revocation
- None
- IRS files
- Agree
- Sanctions
- No match
- IRS bulletin
- No notice
- California
- No record
- Charity type
- Supporting organization, type not stated
$11Mrevenue
FY2024 · +46% in 3 yrs8 of 8years filed
’17’18’19’20’21’22’23’24
Revenue and spendingRevenueSpendingDeficit
Against similar nonprofits FY2024
Operating margin18.5%
Months of reserve7.9mo
Revenue growth (annualized)+6.1%
Middle half of peersMedianChildren's Assessment Center
Where the money goes FY2024 · $9.3M spent
Programs$8.3M90%Management and general$572k6%Fundraising$350k4%990 FY2024 · Part IX line 25
Worth checking2
A funder worth 17% of revenue stopped after FY2021
Houston Endowment Inc gave about $901k a year for four years, 17% of revenue in FY2021.
Funders’ 990-PF grant listsDeficits in 2 of the last 3 years
−$2.2M in FY2022 and −$567k in FY2023. Cash covers 7.9 months, above the peer median of 2.8.
990 Part I and balance sheetIn its favor2
Strong governance
24 of 24 board members independent. Conflict-of-interest and whistleblower policies, audited financial statements, board reviews the 990.
990 Part VIA history of government grants
Government grants on 8 of its 8 returns, 43% of revenue in FY2024.
990 Part VIII65funders
$5.3Ma year, last 3 years
81%from its largest funder
Funder’17’18’19’20’21’22’23Houston Endowment IncStopped after FY2021$1.0M$704k$600k$1.3M–Halliburton Charitable FoundationSince FY2021$51k$51k$52kUnited Way of Greater HoustonNew in FY2023$136kTexas Children's HospitalOn and off$53k$25k$15k$15kCullen Trust For Health CareSince FY2022$35k$35kThe Methodist HospitalSince FY2022$38k$17kDonor-advised giftsDonors not disclosed$59k$164k$640k$829k$46k$33k$126k42 other fundersUp to $4.4M a year each$2.8M$2.7M$4.0M$4.1M$4.4M$4.7M$4.9M
FundedThrough a donor-advised fundStopped