Nonprofit screen
Screen a listCharleston Chamber Foundation
Can you give?
Listed with the IRS. Every screen came back clear.
A 501(c)(3) on Publication 78 and the IRS master file.
- IRS nonprofit listing
- No issue
- Revocation
- None
- IRS files
- Agree
- Sanctions
- No match
- IRS bulletin
- No notice
- California
- No record
- Charity type
- Supporting organization, type not stated
$3.7Mrevenue
FY2024 · +2147% in 3 yrs7 of 7years filed
’18’19’20’21’22’23’24
Revenue and spendingRevenueSpendingDeficit
Against similar nonprofits FY2024
Operating margin3.4%
Months of reserve2.9mo
Revenue growth (annualized)+87.9%
Middle half of peersMedianCharleston Chamber
Where the money goes FY2024 · $3.6M spent
Programs$3.5M98%Management and general$44k1%Fundraising$30k1%990 FY2024 · Part IX line 25
Worth checking2
A funder worth 15% of revenue stopped after FY2021
Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation gave about $38k a year for two years, 15% of revenue in FY2021.
Funders’ 990-PF grant listsFederal awards stopped after FY2022
$8.4M in FY2022, none traced since.
USAspendingIn its favor2
Strong governance
3 of 4 board members independent. Conflict-of-interest and whistleblower policies, audited financial statements, board reviews the 990.
990 Part VIGrowing faster than peers
Revenue up 88% a year since FY2018, in the top quarter of similar nonprofits.
990 Part I · peer cohort11funders
$112ka year, last 3 years
47%from its largest funder
Funder’17’18’19’20’21’22’23The Bank of America Charitable Foundation IncEvery year since FY2017$25k$25k$25k$25k$36k$36k$30kDominion Energy Charitable FoundationStopped after FY2021$50k$25k–Truist Foundation IncOn and off$25k$20kBosch Community FundNew in FY2023$20kGaylord and Dorothy Donnelley FoundationOn and off$10kDonor-advised giftsDonors not disclosed$160k
FundedThrough a donor-advised fundStopped