Nonprofit screen
Screen a listCenter for Children's Law and Policy
Can you give?
The IRS revoked this organization’s exemption.
Grants are generally deductible only if made before the revocation was posted.
- IRS nonprofit listing
- Flagged
- Revocation
- Revoked
- IRS files
- Agree
- Sanctions
- No match
- IRS bulletin
- No notice
- California
- No record
- Charity type
- Not stated
$1.1Mrevenue
FY2022 · −46% in 3 yrs11staff
6 of 6years filed
’17’18’19’20’21’22
Revenue and spendingRevenueSpendingDeficit
Against similar nonprofits FY2022
Operating margin−84.7%
Months of reserve2.4mo
Revenue growth (annualized)−13.1%
Middle half of peersMedianCenter for Children's Law and Policy
Where the money goes FY2022 · $2.0M spent
Programs$1.1M54%Management and general$936k46%990 FY2022 · Part IX line 25
Worth checking2
A funder worth 21% of revenue stopped after FY2021
Laura and John Arnold Foundation gave about $498k a year for two years, 21% of revenue in FY2021.
Funders’ 990-PF grant listsDeficits in 2 of the last 3 years
−$310k in FY2021 and −$931k in FY2022. Cash covers 2.4 months, under the peer median of 3.8.
990 Part I and balance sheetIn its favor1
A history of government grants
Government grants on 3 of its 4 returns, 14% of revenue in FY2022. $562k is traced federal awards from Department of Justice.
990 Part VIII · USAspending15funders
$843ka year, last 3 years
57%from its largest funder
Funder’17’18’19’20’21’22’23Annie E Casey Foundation IncSince FY2019$699k$260k$625k$415k$400kLaura and John Arnold FoundationStopped after FY2021$650k$345k–The Jacob and Valeria Langeloth FoundationSince FY2019$100k$100k$125k$105k$200kThe Tow Foundation IncEvery year since FY2017$130k$75k$75k$60k$70k$60k$60kWK Kellogg FoundationStopped after FY2020$155k$187k$89k–Surdna Foundation IncStopped after FY2019$80k$80k$80k–Donor-advised giftsDonors not disclosed$30$5$57 other fundersUp to $100k a year each$6k$32k$70k$118k$93k$31k
FundedThrough a donor-advised fundStopped