Nonprofit screen
Screen a listCaritas Clinics Inc
Can you give?
One screen flags this organization.
A flag is not a determination. Check the screen marked below before you grant.
- IRS nonprofit listing
- Flagged
- Revocation
- None
- IRS files
- Agree
- Sanctions
- No match
- IRS bulletin
- No notice
- California
- No record
- Charity type
- Not stated
$3.6Mrevenue
FY2023 · +51% in 3 yrs67staff
7 of 7years filed
’17’18’19’20’21’22’23
Revenue and spendingRevenueSpendingDeficit
Against similar nonprofits FY2023
Operating margin−99.2%
Months of reserve0.3mo
Revenue growth (annualized)−7.7%
Middle half of peersMedianCaritas Clinics
Where the money goes FY2023 · $7.2M spent
Programs$5.7M79%Management and general$950k13%Fundraising$566k8%990 FY2023 · Part IX line 25
Worth checking1
Deficits in 3 of the last 3 years
−$588k in FY2021, −$1.8M in FY2022 and −$3.6M in FY2023. Cash covers 0.3 months, under the peer median of 3.6.
990 Part I and balance sheetIn its favor2
Strong governance
8 of 8 board members independent. Conflict-of-interest and whistleblower policies, audited financial statements, board reviews the 990.
990 Part VIA history of government grants
Government grants on 7 of its 7 returns, 10% of revenue in FY2023.
990 Part VIII14funders
$691ka year, last 3 years
63%from its largest funder
Funder’17’18’19’20’21’22’23Sisters of Charity of Leavenworth Health System IncEvery year since FY2017$4.7M$236k$289k$304k$267k$419k$625kHealth Forward FoundationSince FY2018$196k$190k$207k$49k$236k$150kUnited Way of Wyandotte CountyStopped after FY2019$65k$63k$64k–United Way of Greater Kansas City IncOn and off$114kJohn W and Effie E Speas Memorial TrustOn and off$10k$20k$25kSaint Lukes Cushing Hospital IncOn and off$31kDonor-advised giftsDonors not disclosed$61k$50k$62k$10k$96k$20k$10k3 other fundersUp to $16k a year each$26k$10k$10k$10k
FundedThrough a donor-advised fundStopped