Nonprofit screen
Screen a listCare in Action Inc
Can you give?
Listed with the IRS. Every screen came back clear.
An organization on the IRS master file.
- IRS nonprofit listing
- No issue
- Revocation
- None
- IRS files
- Agree
- Sanctions
- No match
- IRS bulletin
- No notice
- California
- Registered
- Charity type
- Not stated
$9.7Mrevenue
FY2024 · −24% in 3 yrs301staff
8 of 8years filed
’17’18’19’20’21’22’23’24
Revenue and spendingRevenueSpendingDeficit
Against similar nonprofits FY2024
Operating margin−40.7%
Months of reserve3.1mo
Revenue growth (annualized)+27.5%
Middle half of peersMedianCare in Action
Where the money goes FY2024 · $14M spent
Programs$11M80%Management and general$2.4M18%Fundraising$325k2%990 FY2024 · Part IX line 25
Worth checking1
Deficits in 2 of the last 3 years
−$2.7M in FY2022 and −$4.0M in FY2024. Cash covers 3.1 months, under the peer median of 5.5.
990 Part I and balance sheetIn its favor2
Growing faster than peers
Revenue up 27% a year since FY2017, faster than half of similar nonprofits.
990 Part I · peer cohortFunders stay
9 of the 14 funders that gave before FY2021 are still giving.
Funders’ 990-PF grant lists35funders
$4.7Ma year, last 3 years
63%from its largest funder
Funder’17’18’19’20’21’22’23Open Society Action Fund IncSince FY2020$250k$4.2M$1.3M$3.4MThe Heising-Simons Action FundSince FY2021$400k$400k$400kAmerica VotesStopped after FY2022$100k$650k$75k–Georgia Investor Action Fund IncSince FY2021$65k$350k$200kFwdus IncStopped after FY2021$475k$100k–Groundswell Action FundOn and off$75k$75k$105k$75k$145k$75kDonor-advised giftsDonors not disclosed$14k$25k$790k$240k$305k$350k18 other fundersUp to $300k a year each$13k$1.1M$288k$745k$375k
FundedThrough a donor-advised fundStopped