Nonprofit screen
Screen a listAnn Arbor Spark Foundation
Can you give?
Listed with the IRS. Every screen came back clear.
A 501(c)(3) on Publication 78 and the IRS master file.
- IRS nonprofit listing
- No issue
- Revocation
- None
- IRS files
- Agree
- Sanctions
- No match
- IRS bulletin
- No notice
- California
- No record
- Charity type
- Supporting organization, type not stated
$183krevenue
FY2024 · −27% in 3 yrs8 of 8years filed
’17’18’19’20’21’22’23’24
Revenue and spendingRevenueSpendingDeficit
Against similar nonprofits FY2024
Operating margin3.0%
Months of reserve6.2mo
Revenue growth (annualized)−17.1%
Middle half of peersMedianAnn Arbor Spark
Where the money goes FY2024 · $177k spent
Programs$177k100%990 FY2024 · Part IX line 25
Worth checking2
Its largest funder stopped after FY2020
Song Foundation gave $1.0M in FY2020, 63% of revenue that year.
Funders’ 990-PF grant listsDeficits in 2 of the last 3 years
−$68k in FY2022 and −$15k in FY2023. Cash covers 6.2 months, under the peer median of 7.6.
990 Part I and balance sheetIn its favor1
Strong governance
5 of 5 board members independent. Conflict-of-interest and whistleblower policies, audited financial statements.
990 Part VI14funders
$122ka year, last 3 years
82%from its largest funder
Funder’17’18’19’20’21’22’23Song FoundationOn and off$1.0MDTE Energy FoundationStopped after FY2020$100k$100k$100k$150k–Consumers Energy FoundationSince FY2020$60k$10k$10k$15kJenkins FoundationOn and off$10kDick and Betsy Devos Family FoundationOn and off$10kThe Martin Family FoundationOn and off$10kDonor-advised giftsDonors not disclosed$246k$130k$102k$100k3 other fundersUp to $5k a year each$12k
FundedThrough a donor-advised fundStopped